Confused by Convergence

Around a month ago I rather stupidly dropped my Sony Erickson k800i right into the middle of the river Crouch, I used the K800i primarily for its phone and camera functionality. It did have MP3 but I never really like the interface or experience. Now I come to replace it I wonder what I should be replacing it with . Afew years ago, I was waiting for a phone that did at least:

  • digital camera > 3.5 mega pixel.
  • MP3 Player > 10gb
  • Bluetooth
  • Wifi
  • good UI

I could go on for a long time here, and the longer my list the longer my wait! Fortunately I  am not writing the spec for a phone. Rather I am trying to point out that i don’t think there will ever be phone which ever truly meets my requirements. I recently got to play with the iPhone, and while it clearly lays the foundations for the UI of phones in the future it still has a number of key things missing, most notably :

  • the ability to search and buy music from the mobile device.
  • Positioning

Im am sure that Apple will release newer version of the phone with this functionality for a price, but by that time there will of course be newer feature which are not present. This is of course the nature of innovation but I wonder if there is a bigger point here. I have always been interested in the term “a jack of all trades is a master of none.” When a phone, service, site, shop or even social network aggregation point tries to do everything, the chances are that they will not be able to do any of the things as well as if they attempted to one particular thing very well.

3 thoughts on “Confused by Convergence

  1. It’s the same when ever I’ve been buying a new computer or anything remotely expensive. “PS3 is out now, but it’s expensive. I’ll wait a year or so as I’m happy with my PS2.” But by then you know they’ll be the Wii2, or xBox3 or some other snazzy thing and you’ll be making the same indecisive decision. Sometimes we have to comprimise with what’s available. Or at least make a decision lol

  2. There’s a big battle over the mobile space at the moment between the the mobile geeks and the pc nerds.

    3G was expected to be available since 2001, but Europe’s decision to follow the U.S policy of auctioning 3G licenses ment that we got some extraordinary hype and overspending which detered many providers right after the dot com bubble.

    At the same time we have the PC nerds pushing Wimax as the new standard instead of 3G. Mobile providers find it difficult to cope with a world of wimax, because they have been charging a premium for mobile services all of a sudden to be flushed by a new technology?

    Until we have some normalisation of radio waves, hardware and software standards, don’t expect to see much. Its coming (2-3 years), but the hype of 3G/Wimax has got us biting our nails!

Comments are closed.